" I love RZ because of the atmosphere of intelligence, drive and laid-back humor. This atmosphere fosters a unique student-teacher dynamic, characterized by respect, high expectations and comradeship."

Joe K. '14

Buffalo Grove Countryside: Chicagoland Jewish High School UN Team earns second place

Updated: March 23, 2012

“The Chicagoland Jewish High School Model UN Team excelled at the National High School Model United Nations Conference in New York. More than 200 schools from around the world sent teams of delegates to the conference to discuss issues at the forefront of international relations with UN Headquarters as a backdrop.

CJHS earned a second place “Award of Distinction for Outstanding School,” which honored the efforts and success of the team in all of the committees represented. A school team award means that CJHS students were ranked at the top in each of the more than a dozen committees on which they served.

CJHS’s team primarily represented the nation of Turkey. In addition to receiving the team award, several members of the team won individual awards. Nathaniel Moses and Maor Gordon-Guterman won first place representing Portugal on the Security Council. Naomi Michael won an award of merit for her work on the Commission on the Rights of the Child, and Benji Fleischacker won an award on the African Union in Somalia Committee, in which he represented the commissioner for civilian concerns. Additionally, eight CJHS students were, by virtue of the excellence of their work, chosen to speak at the closing plenary session held in the General Assembly of the UN.

Students who attended the conference in past years worked with first-year students to help them prepare for the intense competition.

Members of the CJHS Model UN Team include: Joshua Aaronson, Evanston; Rachel Aaronson, Evanston; Joseph Cohen, Chicago; Shelly Dekalo, Highland Park; Ariel Efergan, Skokie; Benjamin Fleischacker, Evanston; Joshua Flink, Deerfield; Benjamin Forester, Deerfield (co-captain); Jeremy Goodman, Evanston; Maor Gordon-Guterman, Chicago (co-captain); Noa Gordon-Guterman, Chicago; Avidan Halivni, Deerfield; Shira Harris, Highland Park; Charlotte Kamin, Highland Park; Dana Levin, Northbrook; Nicolas Levy, Merion, Pa.; Naomi Michael, Highland Park; Nathaniel Moses, Chicago; Claire Peaceman, Highland Park; Lauren Pliskin, Buffalo Grove; Hillel Schwartz, Deerfield; Rachel Small, Deerfield; Ari Spellman, Northbrook; David Steinberg, Evanston; Elan Sykes, Chicago; Adam Taitz, Highland Park; Ruli Warner-Rosen, Evanston.”

For the full article, click here.

Categories: News, RZJHS in the News

E-Newsletter Sign-up:

E-Newsletter Sign-up: